9th April 2020

New leader of Somerset County Council announces cabinet

Councillor David Fothergill has been elected leader of Somerset County Council with Councillor David Hall continuing in the role of deputy leader.

Councillor William Wallace was elected to the post of chairman of the council and Councillor Peter Burridge-Clayton to the vice-chairman role.

The appointments were proposed by the Conservative group and unanimously supported by councillors at the meeting.

Liberal Democrat councillor, Councillor Jane Lock, was elected as the leader of the opposition.

Cllr Fothergill announced his new cabinet and their areas of responsibility:

  • Resources and Economic Development – Cllr David Hall
  • Adult Social Care – Cllr David Huxtable
  • Children and Families – Cllr Frances Nicholson
  • Highways and Transport – Cllr John Woodman
  • Corporate and Community Services – Cllr Anna Groskop
  • Public Health and Well-Being – Cllr Christine Lawrence
  • Strategy and Customers and Communities – Cllr David Fothergill

The new leader also announced that he will be introducing four junior cabinet member posts. They will support their cabinet members, develop policy and lead on specific areas within the portfolio.

The junior cabinet members are:

  • Resources and Economic Development – Cllr Clare Aparicio Paul
  • Children and Families – Cllr Gemma Verdon
  • Corporate and Community Services – Cllr Faye Purbrick
  • Adult Social Care – Cllr Giuseppe Fraschini

The leader’s intention is that the overall cost of the new cabinet team will be within the existing budget, helped by savings made by discontinuing the cabinet role for corporate improvement.